Article 39A of the Constitution of India provides for free legal aid to the poor and weaker sections of the society to ensure that opportunities for securing justice are not denied to any citizen by reason of economic or other disabilities. To substantiate it, Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 was enacted, which is one of the most important social welfare legislations passed by the Indian Parliament after independence. Under the provisions of the said Act, the Legal Services Authorities at the Central, State, District and Taluka level have been constituted- 1) to provide free and competent legal services to the weaker sections of the society; 2) to disseminate legal literacy among people through continuous awareness programme; 3) to organize Lok Adalats and all other legal services activities to ensure that the operation of the legal system promotes justice on a basis of equal opportunity,andetc.


The West Tripura District Legal Services Authority consists of the District & Sessions Judge, West Tripura as Chairman, a Grade- II officer of Tripura Judicial Service as District Secretary. Besides the Chairman and the District Secretary, the District Magistrate & Collector, West Tripura; Superintendent of Police, West Tripura; Chief Judicial Magistrate, West Tripura; Government Pleader of the District, the District Public Relation Officer and President of the Local Bar Association are members of the Authority. There are three number of members in the DLSA, being nominated by the State Government.